了解事实:

加州高铁
破除加州高铁迷思加州高速铁路管理局(管理局)负责规划、设计、建设和运营全国第一个高速铁路系统。加州高铁将连接该州的主要地区,促进经济发展和更清洁的环境,创造就业机会并保护农业和受保护的土地。这个备受瞩目的项目获得了大量宣传,进而引发了猜测和谣言。在考虑高铁对加利福尼亚的影响时,重要的是将事实与虚构区分开来。

可持续性建造默塞德-弗雷斯诺-贝克斯菲尔德对顺丰到洛杉矶的承诺

可持续性

误解:建设高铁造成的污染大于节省的。

事实:

合同要求决定了我们的建筑工地的空气质量明显优于加利福尼亚的平均水平。我们的承包商使用 Tier 4 公路和越野车辆和技术来减少二氧化氮排放。

现场排放量比州平均水平低 60%。

误解:高铁导致蔓延。

事实:

超过 $1000 万的资金用于车站区规划工作,这将有助于创建繁荣和可持续的车站区。

重点城市之间的规划创造了有意义的联系和经济机会。

误解:将限额与交易收益投资于高铁没有产生任何结果。

事实:

总量控制与交易资金已帮助在弱势社区刺激了近 $4 亿的经济活动,并为我们的建设项目派遣了 400 多名弱势工人。

在参与高铁计划的 600 多家小企业中,有 192 家是弱势企业。高铁建设已经创造了5500多个工作岗位。

误区:高铁将成为电网的耗材。

事实:

高速铁路将使用完全由可再生能源提供的电力。

管理局致力于使用 100% 的可再生能源来运营我们的火车和设施。

误解:高铁现在对减少温室气体 (GHG) 排放毫无作用。

事实:

此刻,横跨北加州和南加州的铁路道口正在升级或取消。这减少了交通拥堵,提高了安全性并减少了空转车辆的温室气体排放。

一个铁路道口每年可造成多达 45 天的交通中断,每年会导致约 1,800 吨温室气体排放。

误解:加州可以做出更好的交通投资。

事实:

交通运输占加州排放的大部分,而高铁将通过减少交通排放来帮助该州实现其长期气候目标。高速铁路是加州可持续交通网络的重要组成部分。高铁的目标是减少拥堵和污染,同时改善流动性并增加就业机会和经济适用房。

随着加州人口的增加和我们的经济持续增长,高铁是唯一能够满足所有这些目标的模式。

建造

误解:高铁将是一列无处可去的火车。

事实:

加州高速铁路系统将连接该州 10 个最大城市中的 6 个。

误解:没有人再坐火车了。

事实:

其他拥有高速铁路系统的国家每年为 16 亿乘客提供服务。

Amtrak 的加利福尼亚走廊是全美最繁忙的走廊之一,2019 年有 1150 万人上下加利福尼亚的火车。

误区二:高铁不会高速。

事实:

在混合/共享走廊中,列车将按照法规要求减慢至每小时 110 英里。

然而,在其他地区,速度将超过每小时 220 英里。

误解:加州高铁将以柴油为动力。

事实:

加州高铁将使用 100% 可再生能源。

它将一直都是电动的。

误解:高铁是解决问题的方法。

事实:

到 2050 年,加州的人口预计将增长到 4500 万以上。交通是排放的主要来源,洛杉矶和旧金山跻身全美交通拥堵最严重的十大城市之列。

高铁系统是实现净零排放的关键组成部分 在该州通过转变和减少运输部门的温室气体排放, 帮助加州实现其气候目标.

默塞德-弗雷斯诺-贝克斯菲尔德线

误解:高铁在加州已经死了。

事实:

我们的 2020 年商业计划提出了我们的愿景,即尽快在加利福尼亚启动高速铁路服务,同时在资金到位时将自己定位为建设更多路段。

我们继续在中央山谷的建设上取得进展,同时在北加州和南加州推进全系统的环境清理和规划。

误解:如果只是在中央山谷,没有人会乘坐高铁。

事实:

从默塞德到弗雷斯诺再到贝克斯菲尔德的 171 英里长的线路连接了加州中央山谷的三个最大城市,该地区约有 600 万人口,其中包括加州三所主要大学。

通过这条走廊前往北加州和南加州其他目的地的乘客将能够在默塞德和贝克斯菲尔德方便地转机。

误解:没有办法从中央山谷到达旧金山或洛杉矶。

事实:

作为全州铁路现代化计划的一部分,高铁将成为加州轨道交通的支柱。

中央山谷的高铁将允许旅客使用默塞德的阿尔塔蒙特走廊快车服务,该服务很快将提供前往圣何塞和东湾区的服务;前往奥克兰和萨克拉门托的 Amtrak San Joaquins 服务;以及从贝克斯菲尔德到南加州的连接。

误解:高铁只是一个就业计划。

事实:

高铁正在创造就业机会,但这只是故事的一部分。

建设高速铁路系统将湾区与洛杉矶和阿纳海姆(包括中央山谷的社区)连接起来,对于加利福尼亚在经济繁荣和机会、创造就业机会、应对气候变化和建设世界一流的基础设施。

误解:高铁已经放弃旧金山和洛杉矶。

事实:

Merced 和 Bakersfield 之间的临时运营部门是在加利福尼亚州提供高速铁路客运服务的第一个组成部分。在我们建造该部分的同时,我们还在全州范围内推进设计和环境工作,以准备在资金可用时将系统扩展到硅谷以外、西北到湾区、南到洛杉矶和阿纳海姆

我们仍然致力于预订投资,包括北加州的 Caltrain 电气化项目和洛杉矶联合车站的 Link US。

误解:高速不会经过中央山谷。

事实:

高速铁路从最初的 171 英里路段开始,将从默塞德延伸到贝克斯菲尔德。与此同时,我们将继续推进北加州和南加州的环境清理工作,以使这些项目部分为建设做好准备。

管理局继续投资于北加州和南加州的项目,这些项目将提供近期的区域交通效益,并为高速铁路服务奠定基础。

对顺丰到洛杉矶的承诺

误解:高铁不会完全达到环保要求。

icon of State of California with windmill

事实:

从默塞德到贝克斯菲尔德的大约 200 英里已经完成了环境清理,其中 119 英里正在积极建设中。 管理局致力于清理从旧金山到洛杉矶/阿纳海姆的整个 500 英里系统。在接下来的 24 个月里,管理局的工作人员正在努力完成剩余的环境文件。 完成后,可以做进一步的工作来优化项目配置、绘制所需的通行权和其他施工前活动。

误解:修建从旧金山到洛杉矶的高铁太贵了。

icon of two bar charts with dollar signs, left chart taller with airplane and car on top, right chart lower with high-speed train on top

事实:

建设相当于高速铁路的道路和机场基础设施容量的成本大约是其两倍。 估计需要花费 $122 至 $199 亿来建造高速公路和机场基础设施,以承载与高速铁路系统相当的人数。高铁成本估计在$63到$98亿之间。

误解:北加州在高速铁路方面没有取得任何进展。

icon of high-speed rail train in front of San Francisco skyline

事实:

管理局已经在北加州完成了几项资助协议,为高速铁路服务奠定基础,并提供近期的区域交通效益。 管理局已向加州火车的半岛走廊电气化项目捐款 $7.14 亿,为旧金山至圣何塞之间 51 英里的轨道电气化和升级,为湾区带来高铁服务,并提高加州火车的效率、容量、安全性和可靠性。

圣马特奥第 25 大道的分级分离、旧金山 Salesforce 中转中心的建设、市中心扩建项目和圣何塞 Diridon 站的规划等其他努力是完成硅谷至中央谷线的基本要素。

误解:南加州的高速铁路没有取得任何进展。

icon of high-speed rail train in front of Los Angeles city skyine

事实:

管理局正在与南加州合作伙伴合作,为该地区的高速铁路服务做好准备。 管理局已承诺投入 $4.23 亿资金用于洛杉矶联合车站的现代化改造,为该车站准备高铁以及在 Link Union Station (Link US) 项目下进行的其他改进。

在南加州的其他准备工作包括将 Brightline West 计划中的拉斯维加斯至维克多维尔高速铁路项目与我们的 SF 至洛杉矶/阿纳海姆路线连接起来,与 BNSF 铁路和其他利益相关者协调,使洛杉矶和阿纳海姆之间的轨道电气化,罗斯克兰的等级分离/ 圣达菲的 Marquardt 项目,以及规划车站设计和与 Palmdale 市的区域连接。

加利福尼亚州高铁管理局尽一切努力确保网站及其内容符合加利福尼亚州规定的Web内容可访问性指南2.0级AA标准所规定的ADA规定。如果您要查找不在加利福尼亚高速铁路管理局网站上的特定文件,则可以通过“公共记录法”页面根据“公共记录法”来请求该文件。如果您对网站或其内容有任何疑问,请通过以下方式与管理局联系: info@hsr.ca.gov.

Get the Facts:

California High-Speed Rail
Dispel the myths about high-speed rail in CaliforniaThe California High-Speed Rail Authority (Authority) is responsible for planning, designing, building and operating the first high-speed rail system in the nation. California high-speed rail will connect the mega-regions of the state, contribute to economic development and a cleaner environment, create jobs and preserve agricultural and protected lands. This high-profile project has garnered a lot of publicity, which in turn has led to speculation and rumor. When considering the impact high-speed rail has on California, it is important to separate fact from fiction.

SustainabilityConstructionMerced-Fresno-BakersfieldCommitment to SF to LA

Sustainability

Myth: Building high-speed rail causes more pollution than it will save.

Fact:

Contract requirements dictate our construction sites have significantly better air quality than the California average. Our contractors use Tier 4 on- and off-road vehicles and technology to reduce nitrogen dioxide emissions.

Site emissions are 60 percent lower than the state average.

Myth: High-speed rail causes sprawl.

Fact:

More than $10 million in funding has been awarded for station area planning efforts, which will help create thriving and sustainable station area districts.

Planning among key cities creates meaningful connections and economic opportunites.

Myth: Investing Cap-and-Trade proceeds in high-speed rail has produced no results.

Fact:

Cap-and-Trade funding has helped spur nearly $4 billion of economic activity in disadvantaged communities and more than 400 disadvantaged workers dispatched to our Construction Projects.

Of the more than 600 small businesses participating in the high-speed rail program, 192 are Disadvantaged Business Enterprises. There are already more than 5,500 jobs have been created to work on building high-speed rail.

Myth: High-speed rail will be a drain on the power grid.

Fact:

High-Speed Rail will run on electricity supplied entirely from renewable sources.

The Authority is committed to using 100 percent renewable energy to operate our trains and facilities.

Myth: High-speed rail does nothing to reduce greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions now.

Fact:

At this very moment rail crossings throughout northern and southern California are being upgraded or eliminated. This reduces traffic congestion, improves safety and cuts GHG emissions from idling vehicles.

A single rail crossing can cause up to 45 days of stopped traffic per year, which results in about 1,800 tons of GHG emissions annually.

Myth: California could make better transportation investments.

Fact:

Transportation accounts for the majority of emissions in California, and high-speed rail will help the state achieve its long-term climate goals by reducing transportation emissions. High-speed rail is a critical part of California’s sustainable transportation network. The goals of high-speed rail are reducing congestion and pollution while improving mobility and increasing access to jobs and affordable housing.

As California’s population rises and our economy continues to grow, high-speed rail is the only mode that meets every one of these goals.

Construction

Myth: High-speed rail will be a train to nowhere.

Fact:

The California high-speed rail system will connect 6 of the 10 largest cities in the state.

Myth: No one rides trains anymore.

Fact:

Other countries with high-speed rail systems service 1.6 billion passengers per year.

Amtrak’s California corridors are among the busiest in the nation, with 11.5 million people boarding and departing from California’s trains in 2019.

Myth: High-speed rail will not be high-speed.

Fact:

In blended/shared corridors, trains will be slowed to 110 miles per hour, as required by regulations.

However, in other areas speeds will top 220 miles per hour.

Myth: California High-Speed Rail will be diesel-powered.

Fact:

High-speed rail in California will run on 100% renewable energy.

It will be all electric all the time.

Myth: High-speed rail is a solution in search of a problem.

Fact:

California’s population is projected to grow to more than 45 million by 2050. Transportation is a key contributor to emissions, and Los Angeles and San Francisco rank among the top ten most gridlocked cities in the nation.

The high-speed rail system is a key component of achieving net-zero emissions in the state by transforming and reducing greenhouse gas emissions in the transportation sector, helping California achieve its climate goals.

Merced-Fresno-Bakersfield Line

Myth: High-speed rail is dead in California.

Fact:

Our 2020 Business Plan presents our vision for Initiating high-speed rail service in California as soon as possible while positioning ourselves to construct additional segments as funding becomes available.

We continue to make strides on construction in the Central Valley while moving forward with systemwide environmental clearance and planning in Northern and Southern California.

Myth: No one is going to ride high-speed rail if it’s just in the Central Valley.

Fact:

The 171-mile line from Merced to Fresno to Bakersfield connects the three largest cities in California’s Central Valley, a region of about 6 million people, including three major California universities.

Passengers traveling through this corridor on to other destinations in Northern and Southern California will be able to make convenient connections in Merced and in Bakersfield.

Myth: There’s no way to get from the Central Valley to San Francisco or Los Angeles.

Fact:

As part of the statewide rail modernization plan, high-speed rail will become the backbone of rail transportation in California.

High-speed rail in the Central Valley will allow travelers to access the Altamont Corridor Express service in Merced, which will soon have service to San Jose and the east Bay Area; the Amtrak San Joaquins service to Oakland and Sacramento; and connections from Bakersfield to Southern California.

Myth: High-speed rail is just a jobs program.

Fact:

High-speed rail is creating jobs, but that’s only part of the story.

Building the high-speed rail system to link the Bay Area to Los Angeles and Anaheim, including the communities in the Central Valley, is essential for California to maintain its position as a global leader when it comes to economic prosperity and opportunity, job creation, combating climate change and building world-class infrastructure.

Myth: High-speed rail has given up on San Francisco and Los Angeles.

Fact:

The interim operating segment between Merced and Bakersfield is the first building block for delivering high-speed rail passenger service in California. While we build that segment, we are also advancing design and environmental work statewide to prepare to expand the system out of the Valley, northwest to the Bay Area and south to Los Angeles and Anaheim, as funding becomes available

We remain committed to bookend investments including the Caltrain Electrification Project in Northern California and Link US at Los Angeles Union Station.

Myth: High-speed won’t go past the Central Valley.

Fact:

High-speed rail is starting with an initial 171-mile segment that will extend from Merced to Bakersfield. At the same time, we are continuing to move forward with environmental clearance in Northern California and Southern California to get these project sections ready for construction.

The Authority continues to invest in projects in Northern and Southern California that will provide near-term regional mobility benefits and lay the foundation for high-speed rail service.

Commitment to SF to LA

Myth: High-speed rail won’t reach full environmental clearance.

icon of State of California with windmill

Fact:

Approximately 200 miles from Merced to Bakersfield have already completed environmental clearance, with 119 miles in active construction. The Authority is committed to clearing the entire 500 miles of the system from San Francisco to Los Angeles/Anaheim. Over the next 24 months, staff at the Authority are pushing to complete the remaining environmental documents. Once completed, further work can be done to refine project configurations, map the needed right of way and other pre-construction activities.

Myth: Building high-speed rail from San Francisco to Los Angeles is too expensive.

icon of two bar charts with dollar signs, left chart taller with airplane and car on top, right chart lower with high-speed train on top

Fact:

It would be roughly twice as expensive to build the roadway and airport infrastructure capacity equivalent to high-speed rail. An estimated $122 to $199 billion would need to be spent to build the highway and airport infrastructure to carry the equivalent number of people as the high-speed rail system. High-speed rail is estimated to cost between $63 to $98 billion.

Myth: No progress on high-speed rail is being made in Northern California.

icon of high-speed rail train in front of San Francisco skyline

Fact:

The Authority has completed several funding agreements in Northern California to lay the foundations for high-speed rail service and provide near-term regional mobility benefits. The Authority has contributed $714 million towards Caltrain’s Peninsula Corridor Electrification Project, electrifying and upgrading 51 miles of track between San Francisco to San Jose, bringing high-speed rail service to the Bay Area and improving Caltrain’s efficiency, capacity, safety and reliability.

Additional efforts such as grade separation at San Mateo’s 25th Avenue, the construction of the Salesforce Transit Center in San Francisco, the Downtown Extension Project and planning at San Jose’s Diridon Station are essential elements to completing the Silicon Valley to Central Valley Line.

Myth: No progress on high-speed rail is being made in Southern California.

icon of high-speed rail train in front of Los Angeles city skyine

Fact:

The Authority is working with Southern California partners to prepare the region for high-speed rail service. The Authority has committed $423 million towards modernizing the Los Angeles Union Station, preparing the station for high-speed rail and other improvements made under the Link Union Station (Link US) project.

Additional preparatory efforts in Southern California include connecting Brightline West’s planned Las Vegas to Victorville high-speed rail project with our SF to LA/Anaheim route, coordinating with BNSF Railway and other stakeholders to electrify track between Los Angeles and Anaheim, grade separation for the Rosecrans/Marquardt Project in Santa Fe, and planning station design and regional connectivity with the City of Palmdale.

The California High-Speed Rail Authority makes every effort to ensure the website and its contents meet mandated ADA requirements as per the California State mandated Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0 Level AA standard. If you are looking for a particular document not located on the California High-Speed Rail Authority website, you may make a request for the document under the Public Records Act through the Public Records Act page. If you have any questions about the website or its contents, please contact the Authority at info@hsr.ca.gov.