Logo with faces, train, and text高鐵的面孔

認識在加利福尼亞州實現高速鐵路的人們,從加利福尼亞中央山谷建設高速鐵路的男女到我們總部和地區辦事處的忠誠員工。作為美國最大的基礎設施項目之一和加利福尼亞州最大的基礎設施項目,提供美國首個高速鐵路系統需要來自多個領域和專業的知識和技能的多樣性。在這裡,我們將重點介紹一些投入時間和才能幫助建設高鐵的熱心人士。

管理局通過突出我們的一些敬業的工作人員並分享他們對慶祝活動和我們使命的想法來慶祝亞裔美國人太平洋島民 (AAPI) 遺產月。花時間認識亞裔美國人和太平洋島民對加州和美國的歷史、文化和成就的貢獻和影響對我們來說很重要。

認可 AAPI 對美國鐵路的貢獻

Black and white photograph of a tear carrier at a tunnel當我們期待為加利福尼亞州提供一個非凡的鐵路項目並回顧該州的鐵路歷史時,很明顯鐵路的故事充滿了剝削和英雄主義的遺產。

1863 年至 1869 年間,多達 20,000 名中國工人移民到美國,幫助建設始於薩克拉門託的危險的中太平洋鐵路西部部分。 1862 年至 1863 年擔任加利福尼亞州州長兼中太平洋鐵路公司總裁的利蘭·斯坦福(Leland Stanford)評論說,這項工作是“迄今為止最困難的工作,即使不是歐洲,美國的任何鐵路都超過了它”。

中國工人在山坡、溝壑和崎嶇不平的土地上鋪設軌道。工人們肩負著將鐵路推過高山脈的任務,在 7,000 多英尺高的寒冷通道鋪設鐵路床。他們在有記錄以來最糟糕的兩個冬天里辛勤工作,躲在雪下的防空洞裡。

然而,儘管身居要職的加州白人認識到華工所做工作的偉大,但他們卻受到了歧視,並被貶為工作中最危險的部分。在施工期間,中國工人的工資比白人工人少 30% 到 50%。儘管中太平洋鐵路沒有記錄中國死亡人數,但中國民間組織估計,沿線至少有 1200 名工人死亡。

值得注意的是,面對這種不公正的待遇,中國工人並非無能為力。 1897 年 6 月 24 日,從舊金山到特拉基的 3000 名工人放下工具停止了工作。儘管工人的具體要求並沒有在歷史記錄中保留下來,但可以肯定的是,他們希望與白人工人的工資平等,減少工作日,並減少隧道中的輪班。集結了組織和妥善執行罷工的力量後,中國工人在面對不公正待遇時重申了他們的自主權。

中國工人的英雄主義改變了流動性對全國美國人的意義。橫貫大陸的鐵路讓乘客可以在一周內穿越全國。這次旅行之前花了一個多月。

全國政界人士指出,橫貫大陸的鐵路證明美國正在引領新工業化時代的到來。他們將這個國家的偉大之處很大程度上歸功於這項技術壯舉。儘管美國西部的流行重述集中在白人牛仔身上,但我們國家的發展在很大程度上要歸功於那些不被視為美國人的演員。對我們來說,放大這樣的故事很重要——這些故事捕捉到了亞裔美國人和太平洋島民的豐富遺產和貢獻。

Picture of smiling woman

Pam Mizukami,首席副官

AAPI 遺產月對您意味著什麼?

亞裔美國人和太平洋島民 (AAPI) 遺產月是慶祝、認可和紀念我們的亞裔和太平洋島民社區和成就的時刻。作為二戰期間(1942-1945 年)被關押在拘禁營的日本後裔的女兒,AAPI 遺產月是我和其他 AAPI 發聲並教育他人了解其他文化多樣性和倡導公平的機會和安全。

是什麼吸引您參與高鐵項目?

我知道我想成為全國最大的轉型基礎設施項目之一的一部分。有機會參與這樣一個開創性和令人興奮的項目,該項目不僅通過減少我們的碳足跡具有環保意識,而且還創造了數千個就業機會,並在其勞動力中擁抱公平、包容和多樣性,這是一個我不能錯過的機會。

您最期待高鐵帶來的哪些好處?

我期待能夠在更短的時間內長途旅行到有趣和美妙的地方!我也很高興地慶祝管理局這麼多人為這個項目做出的辛勤工作和成功。

Man smiling in a button up shirt

Dennis Domondon,平面設計師 II

AAPI 遺產月對您意味著什麼?

這意味著慶祝多樣性,也是使加利福尼亞與眾不同的原因之一。

是什麼吸引您參與高鐵項目?

高鐵是美國需要的東西。我很自豪加州投票支持這個項目,並將成為全國第一個建造高速鐵路的人。

您最期待高鐵帶來的哪些好處?

我希望能夠比開車更快、更高效地向南旅行。

Women with glasses smiling

Minming Wu Morri, 環境律師

AAPI 遺產月對您意味著什麼?

從一個世紀前中國工人辛勤建設鐵路和公路、50 多英里長的道路(如優勝美地國家公園的 泰奧加山口或瓦沃納路 這讓所有人更容易進入荒野,或者五十多年前,當德拉諾的菲律賓農場工人與其他人一起組織起來,為重要的勞工、健康和安全保護而組織時,到今天,亞裔美國人幾乎是我們每個人不可或缺的一部分從好萊塢到矽谷再到國會大廈。

是什麼吸引您參與高鐵項目?

我認為這是未來,因為它將我們推向更環保的交通系統,我很榮幸能成為該項目的一部分。

您最期待高鐵帶來的哪些好處?

從舊金山市中心到洛杉磯市中心不到 3 小時。我也很高興能體驗到從舊金山到洛杉磯的第一次連續客運鐵路。我是騎火車的忠實粉絲。它們是舒適的遊樂設施,您可以在其中欣賞美麗的風景,而且每個人都可以使用它們——可能對長時間駕駛感到不舒服的老年人、對乘坐火車感到興奮的幼兒等。

2022 年黑人歷史月

管理局通過突出我們的一些敬業的工作人員並分享他們對慶祝活動和我們使命的想法來慶祝黑人歷史月。黑人文化深深地豐富了美國的文化、音樂、藝術、文學和體育運動。這些貢獻是我們共同的美國故事的基礎支柱。看看為美國第一個高速鐵路系統做出貢獻的一些傑出人物。

Headshot of Catrina Blair for Faces of HSR

Catrina Blair,流程與項目開發處處長

黑人歷史月對你意味著什麼?

黑人歷史月是我不斷慶祝美國黑人貢獻的延伸。很高興看到許多才華橫溢的開拓者、企業家和學者實時創造黑人歷史,我很榮幸有一個月的時間專門介紹過去的個人,他們為我鋪平了道路,現在誰是為我的孩子舖平道路。

是什麼吸引您參與高鐵項目?

我很榮幸最初加入高鐵,作為高鐵小企業倡導者管理部門的小企業計劃。我對小企業充滿熱情,並與小企業合作了 20 多年。目睹企業家在經濟增長和就業機會方面塑造我們州的成功,同時為全國最大的基礎設施項目提供基本產品和服務,這是非常有益的。

您最期待高鐵帶來的哪些好處?

我很高興有一天我終於可以看到參與該項目的每個人的所有辛勤工作的體現。我也期待著有一天我可以去 SoCal 進行一日遊。

 

Damon Dorn Headshot for Faces of HSR

小企業經理 Damon Dorn

黑人歷史月對你意味著什麼?

對我來說,黑人歷史月是一個展示黑人在歷史、文化、娛樂等方面的卓越表現的機會。這個機會不僅可以展示美國黑人的成就,還可以展示全球黑人的成就。

是什麼吸引您參與高鐵項目?

對我來說,來到高鐵局意味著成為美國以前從未做過的事情的一部分 你能說這將是第一次嗎?這對我個人來說是一個不可思議的項目和機會,我想成為其中的一部分。

您最期待高鐵帶來的哪些好處?

目前,我們仍然是一個相對較小的國家機構,所以增長的機會無處不在。該項目的長期範圍將連接加州的主要城市。我設想高鐵管理局在未來幾年將成為最大的運輸機構之一。

 

Headshot of Zerlinia Moore for Faces of HSR

Zerlinia Moore,項目交付辦公室副參謀長

黑人歷史對你意味著什麼?

對我來說,黑人歷史意味著歡欣、慶祝和感謝我的人民給我們希望和發言權,並承認他們為我們的社會做出的貢獻。黑人歷史不僅僅是我們所經歷的所有糟糕時期。這是關於正直、領導力和決心。這是關於展示我們的真實性格以及對我的種族和文化的認可,它超越了美國的種族主義和帝國主義的形成。

是什麼吸引您參與高鐵項目?

參與全國首條高速鐵路 (HSR) 計劃令人興奮。我想成為這個歷史性和創新性項目的一部分。 HSR 項目很棒,我很高興成為 HSR 團隊的重要成員。我迫不及待地想在周末去洛杉磯旅行,或者不開車幾個小時就去拉斯維加斯快速旅行。

您最期待高鐵帶來的哪些好處?

哇,我從哪裡開始?我對效率、改善我們的空氣質量、它將創造的就業機會、經濟效益、減少高速公路擁堵和減少溫室氣體排放感到興奮。隨著貧困的加劇,高鐵項目將提高我們的生活質量,並提供獲得工作和財富的途徑。

加利福尼亞州高鐵管理局盡一切努力確保網站及其內容符合加利福尼亞州規定的Web內容可訪問性指南2.0級AA標準所規定的ADA規定。如果您要查找不在加利福尼亞高速鐵路管理局網站上的特定文件,則可以通過“公共記錄法”頁面根據“公共記錄法”來請求該文件。如果您對網站或其內容有任何疑問,請通過以下方式與管理局聯繫: info@hsr.ca.gov.

Logo with faces, train, and textFaces of HSR

Meet the people making high-speed rail a reality in California, from the men and women building high-speed rail in California’s Central Valley to our committed staff in our headquarters and regional offices. As one of the largest infrastructure projects in the United States and the largest in California, delivering the nation’s first high-speed rail system requires a diversity of knowledge and skill from multiple fields and specialties. Here, we will highlight some of the dedicated individuals lending their time and talent to help build high-speed rail.

Recognizing AAPI Contributions to American Rail

Black and white photograph of a tear carrier at a tunnelAs we look forward to delivering an extraordinary rail project for the State of California and look back upon the history of rail in the state, it becomes clear the story of rail is fraught with both legacies of exploitation and of heroism.

Between 1863 and 1869, as many as 20,000 Chinese workers immigrated to the United States to help build the dangerous western portion of the Central Pacific Railroad that began in Sacramento. Leland Stanford, Governor of California from 1862-1863 and president of the Central Pacific Railroad, remarked that the work was, “the most difficult yet, surmounted by any railroad in the United States if not Europe.”

Chinese workers laid tracks over mountain sides, ravines, and uneven land. Tasked with pushing the line through the High Sierras, workers laid the railroad bed through chilly passes at more than 7,000 feet. They labored through two of the worst winters on record, taking shelter in dugouts beneath the snow.

Yet, while white Californians situated in positions of power recognized the magnificence of the work performed by Chinese laborers, they were discriminated against and relegated to the most dangerous parts of the job. During construction, Chinese workers were paid 30% to 50% less than their white counterparts. Though the Central Pacific Railroad did not keep a record of Chinese deaths, Chinese civic organizations estimated at least 1,200 workers died along the route.

It is important to note that Chinese workers were not powerless in the face of this unjust treatment. On June 24, 1897, 3,000 workers from San Francisco to Truckee put down their tools and ceased working. Though the specific demands of workers have not survived in the historical record, it is safe to assume they wanted wage parity with white workers, reduced workdays, and reduced shifts in tunnels. Having gathered the strength to both organize and properly execute a strike, Chinese workers reasserted their autonomy in the face of unjust treatment.

The heroism of Chinese workers changed what mobility meant for Americans across the country. The transcontinental railroad allowed passengers to travel across the country in one week. This trip had previously taken more than a month.

Politicians across the country pointed to the transcontinental railroad as proof that the United States was leading the charge in the dawn of a new, industrialized era. They pinned much of the country’s greatness on this technological feat. Though popular retellings of the American West have focused on white cowboys, the development of our nation is in large part due to actors who were not perceived as Americans. It is important for us to amplify stories like this one – stories that capture the rich heritage and contributions of Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders.

AAPI Heritage Month 2022

The Authority is celebrating Asian American Pacific Islander (AAPI) Heritage Month by highlighting some of our dedicated staff members and sharing their thoughts on the celebration and our mission. It’s important for us to take the time to recognize the contributions and influence of Asian Americans and Pacific Islander Americans to the history, culture, and achievements of both California and the United States.

Picture of smiling woman

Pam Mizukami, Chief Deputy Officer

What does AAPI Heritage Month mean to you?

Asian American & Pacific Islander (AAPI) Heritage Month is a time to celebrate, recognize, and honor our Asian and Pacific Islander communities and accomplishments. As a daughter of Japanese descendants who were incarcerated in internment camps during World War II (1942-1945), AAPI Heritage Month is an opportunity for me and other AAPIs to speak up and educate others about appreciating the diversity of other cultures and advocate for equity and safety.

What drew you to the high-speed rail project?

I knew that I wanted to be a part of one of the largest and transformational infrastructure projects in the nation. Being offered the chance to work on such a groundbreaking and exciting project that is not only environmentally conscious by reducing our carbon footprint but also creates thousands of job opportunities and embraces equity, inclusion and diversity in its workforce was an opportunity I could not pass up.

What benefits of the high-speed rail are you most excited for?

I am looking forward to being able to travel long distances in a shorter amount of time to fun and fabulous places! I am also excited to celebrate the hard work and successes that so many at the Authority have contributed to this project.

 

Man smiling in a button up shirt

Dennis Domondon, Graphic Designer II

What does AAPI Heritage Month mean to you?

It means celebrating diversity and is one of the reasons that makes California unique.

What drew you to the high-speed rail project?

High-speed rail is something that the United States needs. I’m proud that California voted for this project and will be the first in the nation to build high speed rail.

What benefits of the high-speed rail are you most excited for?

I want to be able to travel south faster and more efficiently than driving.

 

Women with glasses smiling

Minming Wu Morri, Environmental Attorney

What does AAPI Heritage Month mean to you?

It’s a month to recognize this nation’s rich and diverse Asian American and Pacific Islander history and heritage, from a century ago when Chinese workers labored to build railroad tracks and roads, 50+ mile roads such as Yosemite National Park’s Tioga Pass or Wawona Road that made the wilderness more accessible to all, or to more than fifty years ago when Filipino farm workers in Delano organized alongside others for important labor, health, and safety protections, to today where Asian Americans are an integral part of almost every one of our communities from Hollywood to Silicon Valley to the Capitol.

What drew you to the high-speed rail project?

I think it’s the future because it moves us towards a greener transportation system, and I feel privileged to be a part of the project.

What benefits of the high-speed rail are you most excited for?

Getting from downtown SF to downtown LA in less than 3 hours. I’m also excited to experience the first continuous passenger rail ride from San Francisco to Los Angeles. I’m a big fan of riding trains. They’re comfortable rides where you can enjoy beautiful landscapes, and they’re accessible to everyone – the elderly who may not feel comfortable driving long stretches, young children excited to be on a train, etc.

Black History Month 2022

The Authority is celebrating Black History Month by highlighting some of our dedicated staff members and sharing their thoughts on the celebration and our mission. Black culture has deeply enriched American culture, music, art, literature, and sports. These contributions are a foundational pillar of our shared, American story. See some of the remarkable people contributing to the nation’s first high-speed rail system.

Headshot of Catrina Blair for Faces of HSR

Catrina Blair, Chief, Process & Program Development Branch

What does Black History Month mean to you?

Black History Month is an extension of my continuous celebration of the contributions of black people in America. It feels good to see the many talented trailblazers, entrepreneurs, and scholars who are creating black history in real time, and I am honored to have a month dedicated to highlighting individuals of the past, who have paved the way for me and present who are paving the way for my children.

What drew you to the high-speed rail project?

I was honored to join High-Speed Rail initially to manage the department’s Small Business Program as the High-Speed Rail Small Business Advocate. I have passion for small businesses and have worked with small businesses for over 20 years. It is extremely rewarding to witness the success of entrepreneurs who are shaping our state in terms of economic growth and job opportunities, while providing essential products and services for the nation’s largest infrastructure project.

What benefits of the high-speed rail are you most excited for?

I am excited for the day that I can finally see the manifestation of all the hard work of everyone involved on the project. I am also looking forward to the day that I can take a day trip to SoCal.

 

Damon Dorn Headshot for Faces of HSR

Damon Dorn, Small Business Manager

What does Black History Month mean to you?

Black History Month to me is an opportunity to showcase black excellence in history, culture, entertainment, etc. The opportunity to shine a light on the achievements of not only Black Americans, but also the achievements by Black people around the globe.

What drew you to the high-speed rail project?

For me coming to the High-Speed Rail Authority meant being a part of something that has never been done before in the U.S. How many times in your life can you say that this will be the first time? This is an incredible project and opportunity for me personally, and I want to be part of it.

What benefits of the high-speed rail are you most excited for?

Right now, we are still a relatively small state agency, so the opportunity for growth is everywhere. The long-term scope of this project will connect the major cities of California. I envision the High-Speed Rail Authority to be one of the largest transportation agencies in the coming years.

 

Headshot of Zerlinia Moore for Faces of HSR

Zerlinia Moore, Deputy Chief of Staff, Office of Program Delivery

What does Black History mean to you?

Black History to me means a time of rejoicing, celebrating, and thanking my people for giving us hope and a voice, and acknowledging the contributions they have made to our society.  Black History isn’t just about all the bad times we’ve been through. It’s about integrity, leadership, and determination. It’s about showing our true character and the recognition of my race and culture that transcends the racist and imperial formation of the United States.

What drew you to the high-speed rail project?

Working on the nation’s first high-speed rail (HSR) program is exciting. I wanted to be a part of this historic and innovative project.  The HSR project is amazing, and I am happy to be a valued member of the HSR team. I can’t wait to be able to travel to Los Angeles on the weekends or take a quick trip to Las Vegas without driving my car for hours.

What benefits of the high-speed rail are you most excited for?

Wow, where do I start?  I am excited about the efficiency, improving our air quality, the jobs it will create, the economic benefits, the reduction in highway congestion, and the decrease in greenhouse gas emissions. As poverty rises, the HSR project will improve our quality of life and provide a means to access jobs and wealth.

The California High-Speed Rail Authority makes every effort to ensure the website and its contents meet mandated ADA requirements as per the California State mandated Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0 Level AA standard. If you are looking for a particular document not located on the California High-Speed Rail Authority website, you may make a request for the document under the Public Records Act through the Public Records Act page. If you have any questions about the website or its contents, please contact the Authority at info@hsr.ca.gov.