من سان فرانسيسكو إلى سان خوسيه

يعد قسم مشروع سان فرانسيسكو إلى سان خوسيه جزءًا من المرحلة الأولى من نظام السكك الحديدية عالي السرعة في كاليفورنيا الذي يربط المجتمعات من سان فرانسيسكو ووادي السيليكون ببقية الولاية. قسم المشروع سوف يسافر بين المحطات في مركز عبور Salesforceالرابع والملك ، ميلبرا (بالقرب من مطار سان فرانسيسكو) ، و سان خوسيه (محطة ديريدون).

يختلف قسم مشروع سان فرانسيسكو إلى سان خوسيه عن الآخرين لأن تشريعات الولاية حددت المواءمة. وفقًا لمتطلبات قانون مجلس الشيوخ (SB) 1029 والاتفاقيات الإقليمية متعددة الوكالات ، ستكون خدمة السكك الحديدية عالية السرعة على طول ممر سان فرانسيسكو إلى سان خوسيه خدمة مدمجة مع مسارات مشاركة خدمة السكك الحديدية عالية السرعة Caltrain.

من خلال العمل معًا ، تعمل Caltrain والسلطة على كهربة الممر ، مما سيسمح لكلا المشغلين بمشاركة المسارات في نظام ممزوج. سيتم تشغيل الخدمة في النهاية إلى مركز عبور Salesforce بمجرد توصيلها بممر السكك الحديدية الحالي ، لتحل محل محطة Caltrain الرابعة ومحطة King كمحطة شمالية لقطارات السكك الحديدية عالية السرعة.

تعمل الهيئة على تطهير القطاع بيئيًا بين سان فرانسيسكو وسان خوسيه. تتمثل الخطة في مشاركة المسارات مع Caltrain وإضافة البنية التحتية اللازمة لدعم خدمة السكك الحديدية عالية السرعة في الممر.

ومن المقرر الانتهاء من التخليص البيئي في عام 2022. وستستمر أنشطة المشاركة المجتمعية طوال العملية في المجتمعات على طول الممر.

 

تفاصيل القسم

ما هو & #039؛ s الجديد

في 23 يوليو 2021 ، أصدرت هيئة السكك الحديدية عالية السرعة في كاليفورنيا (الهيئة) ، للمراجعة العامة والتعليق بموجب قانون الجودة البيئية لولاية كاليفورنيا (CEQA) وقانون السياسة البيئية الوطنية (NEPA) ، مسودة منقحة لتقرير الأثر البيئي / مسودة تكميلية بيان الأثر البيئي (المسودة المنقحة EIR / المسودة التكميلية EIS) من سان فرانسيسكو إلى قسم سان خوسيه في مشروع كاليفورنيا للسكك الحديدية عالية السرعة لمعالجة القائمة الأخيرة لفراشة الملك كنوع من الأنواع المرشحة الفيدرالية من قبل خدمة الأسماك والحياة البرية الأمريكية في إطار قانون الأنواع المهددة بالانقراض الفيدرالي. تتضمن الوثيقة أيضًا تحليل التأثيرات البيئية لمتغير التصميم الجديد لخطة الموقع المخفف لمحطة ميلبراي- سان فرانسيسكو (RSP) ، والذي تم تطويره استجابةً لمخاوف أصحاب المصلحة بشأن تصميم محطة ميلبراي-سان فرانسيسكو التي تم تقييمها في مسودة EIR / EIS . تبدأ فترة التعليق العام الرسمية البالغة 45 يومًا يوم الجمعة 23 يوليو 2021 وتنتهي يوم الأربعاء 8 سبتمبر 2021.

للوصول إلى المسودة المنقحة EIR / المسودة التكميلية EIS أو لمعرفة المزيد حول الغرض منها ، يرجى الانتقال إلى الرابط التالي: https://hsr.ca.gov/programs/environmental-planning/project-section-environmental-documents-tier-2/san-francisco-to-san-jose-project-section-draft-environmental-impact-report-environmental-impact-statement/

 

تم إغلاق فترة المراجعة العامة لسان فرانسيسكو إلى قسم مشروع سان خوسيه ، مسودة تقرير الأثر البيئي / بيان الأثر البيئي (EIR / EIS) في 9 سبتمبر 2020. تم توفير مسودة EIR / EIS في الأصل لمراجعة عامة لمدة 45 يومًا على الأقل تبدأ في 10 يوليو 2020 وتنتهي في 24 أغسطس 2020 ، وفقًا لقانون جودة البيئة في كاليفورنيا (CEQA) وقانون السياسة البيئية الوطنية (NEPA). استجابة لطلبات الوكالة وأصحاب المصلحة وبالنظر إلى القيود التي يسببها جائحة فيروس كورونا الجديد ، اختارت الهيئة تمديد فترة المراجعة العامة حتى 9 سبتمبر 2020. ستنظر هيئة السكك الحديدية عالية السرعة في كاليفورنيا (الهيئة) في جميع التعليقات الواردة على مشروع EIR / EIS والرد على التعليقات الموضوعية على مسودة EIR / EIS في EIR / EIS النهائي ، المقرر إصداره في عام 2022.

للوصول إلى مسودة EIR / EIS أو معرفة المزيد حول الغرض منها ، يرجى الانتقال إلى الرابط التالي: https://hsr.ca.gov/programs/environmental-planning/project-section-environmental-documents-tier-2/san-francisco-to-san-jose-project-section-draft-environmental-impact-report-environmental-impact-statement/

يرجى زيارة صفحة الأحداث لمزيد من المعلومات حول أنشطة المشاركة القادمة للهيئة.

من سان فرانسيسكو إلى بدائل سان خوسيه

هناك نوعان من البدائل الكاملة لقسم مشروع سان فرانسيسكو إلى سان خوسيه ، البدائل أ و ب.

البديل أ هو تشغيل قطارات السكك الحديدية عالية السرعة في نظام ممزوج في الغالب داخل حق طريق Caltrain الحالي ، وتثبيت تحسينات السلامة وأبراج الاتصالات الراديوية ، وبناء منشأة صيانة خفيفة (LMF) شرق ممر Caltrain في بريسبان الحالية موقع بايلاندز. لن يتضمن هذا البديل مسارات تمرير إضافية.

البديل B هو تشغيل القطارات عالية السرعة في نظام ممزوج في الغالب داخل حق طريق Caltrain الحالي ، وتثبيت تحسينات السلامة وأبراج الاتصالات اللاسلكية ، وبناء منشأة صيانة خفيفة (LMF) غرب ممر Caltrain. سيشمل هذا البديل ستة أميال من مسارات المرور الإضافية الممتدة من مدينة سان ماتيو إلى مدينة ريدوود. لمزيد من المعلومات حول مسارات المرور ، يرجى الاطلاع على ورقة حقائق مسارات التمرير.

يرجى الاطلاع على الخرائط التالية لعرض بدائل المشروع.

محطات سكك حديدية عالية السرعة

تم التخطيط لمحطات السكك الحديدية عالية السرعة في ثلاثة مواقع في سان فرانسيسكو إلى قسم مشروع سان خوسيه: 4th و King Street في سان فرانسيسكو - حتى يتم الاتصال بمركز Salesforce Transit Center ؛ في ميلبرا ، والتي تخدم أيضًا مطار سان فرانسيسكو الدولي ؛ ومحطة سان خوسيه ديريدون.

لمزيد من المعلومات حول محطات السكك الحديدية الفردية المخططة ، يرجى زيارة صفحات الويب الخاصة بالمحطة:

نظام ممزوج على ممر Caltrain كهربائي

ستكون خدمة السكك الحديدية عالية السرعة على طول ممر سان فرانسيسكو إلى سان خوسيه نظامًا مدمجًا يدعمه تحديث Caltrain الخدمة وخدمة السكك الحديدية عالية السرعة في المقام الأول على المسار المشترك إلى حد كبير داخل ممر Caltrain الحالي. يقلل هذا النهج من التأثيرات على المجتمعات المحيطة ، ويقلل من تكلفة المشروع ، ويحسن السلامة ويسرع التنفيذ.

تواصل الهيئة عملية التخطيط والعملية البيئية لتعريف النظام المخلوط بشكل أكبر. تشمل تحسينات النظام التي سيتم تحديدها أثناء عملية التخطيط والمراجعة البيئية مسارات المرور ، والتي يمكن استخدامها بواسطة السكك الحديدية عالية السرعة لتمرير قطارات Caltrain التي تحتاج إلى التوقف بشكل متكرر ، وترقيات النظام لدعم أداء وسرعة أعلى للقطارات ، وتحسينات سلامة النظام ، بما في ذلك معابر الدرجة والمحطات.

خلفية النظام المخلوط

تم تصور مفهوم النظام المدمج لسنوات عديدة.

في عام 2004 ، دخلت السلطة وشركة Caltrain في اتفاق للعمل بشكل تعاوني لتخطيط ممر مشترك بين سان فرانسيسكو وسان خوسيه.

بعد موافقة الناخبين الاقتراح 1 أ، قانون السندات الآمنة والموثوقة للقطارات عالية السرعة للركاب للقرن الحادي والعشرين ، دخلت الوكالات في اتفاقية أخرى (اتفاقية 2009 ، تعديل 2009) للعمل في شراكة لتحديد بدائل التصميم التي من شأنها دعم كل من السكك الحديدية عالية السرعة وخدمة Caltrain الحديثة . دعت هذه الخطط الأصلية إلى نظام أربعة مسارات منفصلة تمامًا بين سان فرانسيسكو وسان خوسيه.

لقد تغير الكثير منذ ذلك الحين وبعد الاستماع إلى مخاوف صانعي السياسات والمجتمعات في شبه الجزيرة ، يتم الآن التخطيط للسكك الحديدية عالية السرعة كجزء من نظام ممزوج يسمح لشركة Caltrain وقطارات السكك الحديدية عالية السرعة بمشاركة مسارات Caltrain الحالية بشكل أساسي على نظام لا يزال إلى حد كبير داخل ممر Caltrain الحالي.

دعت خطة عمل الهيئة لعام 2012 إلى الخدمة المختلطة على طول الممر قائلة:

"النظام المختلط المقترح لشبه جزيرة سان فرانسيسكو هو في الأساس نظام ذو مسارين تشترك فيه شركة Caltrain وخدمة السكك الحديدية عالية السرعة ومستأجري السكك الحديدية الحاليين. تظهر التحقيقات الأولية أن العمليات المختلطة كما هو متصور حاليًا للممر هي حلول فعالة من حيث التكلفة على أساس رأس المال والتشغيل ".

في عام 2012 ، أصدرت Caltrain العديد من الدراسات التي خلصت إلى أن السكك الحديدية عالية السرعة المختلطة وعمليات Caltrain ممكنة مع بعض التغييرات والتحسينات على النظام الحالي.

في نفس العام ، مرت الهيئة التشريعية مجلس الشيوخ بيل SB 1029لتعريف النظام المخلوط بقوله:

"لا يجوز استخدام أي أموال مخصصة ... للمشروعات في سان فرانسيسكو إلى ممر سان خوسيه ، بما يتفق مع استراتيجية النظام المختلط المحددة في خطة العمل لعام 2012 المنقحة لبرنامج السكك الحديدية عالية السرعة في كاليفورنيا في أبريل 2012 ، لتوسيع النظام الممزوج إلى أربعة نظام المسار ".

في عام 2012 ، مع اتفاقية محلية وإقليمية وحكومية بشأن مفهوم النظام / الخدمة المختلطة ، أنشأت لجنة النقل الحضرية والهيئة وكالترين وستة شركاء تمويل آخرين في منطقة خليج سان فرانسيسكو مذكرة تفاهم للتمويل الإقليمي (MOU) لدعم النظام المختلط النظام الذي نص على:

"سيبقى النظام الممزوج إلى حد كبير ضمن حق طريق Caltrain الحالي وسوف يستوعب السكك الحديدية عالية السرعة في المستقبل وخدمة Caltrain المحدثة على طول ممر Peninsula من خلال الاستفادة بشكل أساسي من تكوين المسار الحالي في Peninsula."

"مذكرة التفاهم هذه مخصصة لاستثمارات المشاريع التي تعمل على ترقية خدمات السكك الحديدية الحالية والاستعداد لمشروع قطار فائق السرعة في المستقبل يقتصر على البنية التحتية اللازمة لدعم النظام المختلط ، والذي سيكون في الأساس نظامًا ثنائي المسار مشترك بين كل من Caltrain و High سكة حديدية السرعة ... "

في عام 2013 ، وقعت السلطة وشركة Caltrain اتفاقية جديدة ، لتحل محل الاتفاقيات الموقعة في عامي 2004 و 2009. تلزم اتفاقية 2013 الوكالتين بتطوير نظام مختلط لممر شبه الجزيرة وتحدد المسار العام للنهوض ببرنامج تحديث Caltrain و النظام المخلوط.

في عام 2016 ، وقعت الهيئة على اتفاقية التمويل والملحق لمذكرة التفاهم التسعة الأطراف لعام 2012 التي تحدد التزام السلطة بتزويد Caltrain بمبلغ إضافي قدره $113 لدعم مشروع كهربة ممر شبه الجزيرة (PCEP) ، وبذلك يصل إجمالي مساهمة السلطة إلى $714 مليون. حددت سبعة من الأطراف التسعة الأصلية في مذكرة التفاهم المكونة من تسعة أطراف لعام 2012 ، بما في ذلك السلطة ، تمويلًا إضافيًا للوصول إلى التكلفة المقدرة لـ PCEP ، والتي تم تحديدها على أنها $1.972 مليار من قبل مجلس الصلاحيات المشتركة لممر شبه الجزيرة (PCJPB) في عام 2016.

احصل على أحدث المعلومات في برنامج تحديث Caltrain.

مجموعة صانع السياسة المحلية

تتألف مجموعة Local Policy Maker Group (LPMG) من مسؤولين من المدن والمحافظات على طول ممر Caltrain. تجتمع المجموعة شهريًا لتقديم الملاحظات وتلقي التحديثات بشأن خطة أعمال Caltrain ومشروع كهربة Caltrain وتحديثات مشروع السكك الحديدية عالية السرعة في كاليفورنيا.

تجتمع مجموعة LPMG كل شهر في يوم الخميس الرابع الساعة 5:30 مساءً في قاعة إدوارد جيه باكوكو الواقعة في الطابق الثاني في مكاتب SamTrans الإدارية ، 1250 San Carlos Ave. ، San Carlos. يقع المكتب على مبنيين غرب محطة سان كارلوس كالترين. امتثالًا لأوامر المأوى في مكان COVID-19 ، قد تعقد الاجتماعات على أنها اجتماعات عبر الإنترنت و / أو اجتماعات عبر الهاتف.

لمزيد من المعلومات حول الاجتماعات القادمة ، بما في ذلك جدول أعمال الاجتماع والمواد وقائمة أعضاء LPMG المحدثة ، قم بزيارة: www.caltrain.com/projectsplans/CaltrainModernization/Local_Policy_Maker_Group.html

مرفق صيانة شمال كاليفورنيا الخفيفة

يحتوي نظام كاليفورنيا للسكك الحديدية عالية السرعة على ثلاثة مرافق مخطط لها لصيانة القطارات من شأنها أن تدعم عمليات السكك الحديدية عالية السرعة. في شمال كاليفورنيا ، تم التخطيط لإنشاء مرفق صيانة خفيفة (LMF) في مدينة بريسبان ؛ سيكون LMF بمثابة موقع يتم فيه تنظيف القطارات وخدمتها وتخزينها وكنقطة خدمة لأي قطارات تحتاج إلى خدمات إصلاح طارئة. سيتم تصميم المنشأة وبناؤها وتشغيلها بشهادة LEED® الذهبية - ستكون موفرة للطاقة وحساسة للبيئة.

قامت الهيئة بتقييم العديد من مواقع LMF المحتملة في شمال كاليفورنيا وحددت خيارين في بريسبان لمزيد من التحليل في مسودة تقرير الأثر البيئي / بيان الأثر البيئي (مسودة EIR / EIS). في عام 2019 ، حدد مجلس إدارة الهيئة مشروع East Brisbane LMF (البديل أ) باعتباره الموقع المفضل ، مع مراعاة التحليل البيئي الأولي والمدخلات الواردة من الجمهور. يتم دراسة كلا الخيارين بالكامل في مسودة EIR / EIS.

لمزيد من المعلومات ، يرجى الاطلاع على صحيفة وقائع LMF و أسئلة وأجوبة (FAQ). يمكن تقديم أسئلة إضافية عبر البريد الإلكتروني على san.francisco_san.jose@hsr.ca.gov أو عبر الهاتف على 8670 435 (800).

المشاركة العامة والتواصل مع المجتمع

السكك الحديدية عالية السرعة هي فرصتنا لتحديث نظام النقل في منطقة الخليج وترك إرث بيئي إيجابي لأطفالنا وأحفادنا. تشجع الهيئة المشاركة العامة في إنشاء وتشغيل السكك الحديدية عالية السرعة في كاليفورنيا ، بحيث يعكس المشروع النهائي احتياجات ورؤية مجتمعنا ككل.

نحن نجري فعاليات التوعية في جميع أنحاء شمال كاليفورنيا ، مثل البيوت المفتوحة واجتماعات مجموعة العمل المجتمعية ، لإبلاغ وجمع المدخلات من المجتمعات المحلية وصانعي السياسات وأصحاب المصلحة. يشمل أصحاب المصلحة مجموعات الإصحاح البيئي ، والمنظمات المجتمعية ، وموظفي المدينة / المقاطعة ، ومجموعات الأحياء ، وسكان كاليفورنيا.

استجابة لوباء COVID-19 ، أنشأت السلطة منزلًا مفتوحًا موقع الكتروني لتوفير الوصول إلى المعلومات والموارد لأقسام مشروع شمال كاليفورنيا عند إصدار سان فرانسيسكو إلى سان خوسيه وسان خوسيه ميرسيد مسودة تقارير الأثر البيئي / بيانات الأثر البيئي (EIRs / EISs). يتم تحديث الموقع بانتظام مع توفر المزيد من الموارد. يرجى زيارة MeetHSRNorcal.org لتعلم المزيد.

فيما يلي قائمة بالبيوت المفتوحة واجتماعات مجموعات العمل التي تم عقدها بين خريف 2019 وصيف 2021. للحصول على قائمة بالأحداث القادمة وفرص التوعية في منطقتك ، قم بزيارة الأحداث صفحة. نظرًا لمتطلبات قانون الأمريكيين ذوي الإعاقة (ADA) ، يمكن طلب مواد الاجتماع قبل يوليو 2019 من خلال a طلب قانون السجلات العامة.

أغسطس 2021

  • ملتقى مجتمع Millbrae عبر الويب - 8/11

مارس 2021

نوفمبر 2020

أغسطس 2020

  • مسودة EIR / EIS Open House Q & A Webinar on MeetHSRNorcal.org - 08/05
  • مشروع جلسة الاستماع العامة EIR / EIS - 08/19

يوليو 2020

  • مسودة ندوات عبر الإنترنت للأسئلة والأجوبة في البيت المفتوح EIR / EIS MeetHSRNorcal.org - 07/20 ، 07/30

مارس 2020

أغسطس 2019

يوليو 2019

خرائط

قم بزيارة البحث عن العناوين والخريطة التفاعلية على الإنترنت للعثور على الممتلكات الخاصة بك فيما يتعلق بأي من بديلي المشروع.

النشرات الإخبارية وصحائف الوقائع

النشرة الإخبارية

تصدر الهيئة نشرات إخبارية إقليمية ربع سنوية لإبقاء أصحاب المصلحة والجمهور على اطلاع دائم على برنامج القطارات عالية السرعة.

للتسجيل في النشرة الإخبارية ، أكمل النموذج الموجود على اتصل بنا الصفحة وحدد "شمال كاليفورنيا" من القائمة المنسدلة.

اعرض أحدث نشرة إخبارية إقليمية لشمال كاليفورنيا.

صحائف وقائع

قم بزيارة صفحة الوقائع لمعرفة المزيد حول برنامج كاليفورنيا للسكك الحديدية عالية السرعة على مستوى الولاية.

لمعرفة المزيد حول قسم مشروع سان فرانسيسكو إلى سان خوسيه ، يرجى الاطلاع على صحائف الوقائع التالية.

المراجعة البيئية

بموجب قانون جودة البيئة لولاية كاليفورنيا (CEQA) وقانون السياسة البيئية الوطنية (NEPA) ، تطلب كل من ولاية كاليفورنيا والحكومة الفيدرالية مشروع بنية تحتية مقترح للخضوع لتقييم شامل للتأثيرات المحتملة للمشروع على البيئة.

فيما يلي جدول زمني للخطوات التي تتخذها الهيئة لتقديم تقرير الأثر البيئي النهائي / بيان الأثر البيئي (EIR / EIS).

Development and Review of Environmental Document for San Francisco to San Jose Project Section

وثائق وتقارير

الوثائق التالية متاحة للمراجعة عند الطلب. تشجع الهيئة الطلبات المكتوبة المقدمة عبر موقعنا بوابة السجلات العامة.

  • من سان فرانسيسكو إلى قسم مشروع سان خوسيه - 2016
  • سان فرانسيسكو إلى قسم مشروع سان خوسيه تحليل البدائل التكميلية
  • من سان فرانسيسكو إلى تحليل بديل لقسم مشروع سان خوسيه
  • من سان فرانسيسكو إلى قسم مشروع سان خوسيه
  • من سان فرانسيسكو إلى إشعار قسم مشروع سان خوسيه بالنوايا / إشعار الإعداد

يرجى زيارة الروابط أدناه لعرض أحدث قسم للمشروع وتقارير كاليفورنيا للسكك الحديدية عالية السرعة.

معلومات للتواصل

إذا كنت مهتمًا بدعوة السلطة إلى اجتماع مجتمعك لتلقي تحديث للمشروع ، فسيكون الفريق سعيدًا بالتنسيق معك.

(800) 435-8670
san.francisco_san.jose@hsr.ca.gov

قم بزيارة اتصل بنا صفحة للاشتراك في تنبيهات البريد الإلكتروني ولمعلومات اتصال إضافية.

Map Icon خرائط تفاعلية

وثائق بيئية لقسم المشروع 

احصل على السرعة في بناءHSR.com

جميع أحدث المعلومات حول ما يحدث وأين نقوم ببناء السكك الحديدية عالية السرعة في كاليفورنيا

تبذل هيئة السكك الحديدية عالية السرعة في كاليفورنيا قصارى جهدها للتأكد من أن موقع الويب ومحتوياته تفي بمتطلبات ADA الإلزامية وفقًا لإرشادات الوصول إلى محتوى الويب 2.0 Level AA من ولاية كاليفورنيا. إذا كنت تبحث عن مستند معين غير موجود على موقع هيئة السكك الحديدية عالية السرعة في كاليفورنيا ، فيمكنك تقديم طلب للحصول على المستند بموجب قانون السجلات العامة من خلال صفحة قانون السجلات العامة. إذا كان لديك أي أسئلة حول الموقع أو محتوياته ، يرجى الاتصال بالهيئة على info@hsr.ca.gov.

San Francisco to San José

The San Francisco to San José project section is part of the first phase of the California high-speed rail system connecting the communities from San Francisco and Silicon Valley to the rest of the state. The approximately 51-mile project section will travel between stations at the Salesforce Transit Center, 4th and King, near the San Francisco Airport (Millbrae), and in San José (Diridon).

The San Francisco to San José project section differs from others because the alignment has been defined by state legislation, Senate Bill 1029 (SB1029) and regional, multi-agency agreements. Per the requirements of SB 1029 high-speed rail service along the San Francisco to San José corridor will be a blended service with Caltrain and high-speed rail service sharing tracks.

Working together, Caltrain and the Authority are in the process of electrifying the corridor, which will allow for both operators to share tracks in a blended system. The service will ultimately run to the Salesforce Transit Center once it is connected to the existing rail corridor, replacing Caltrain’s 4th and King Station as the ultimate northern terminus for high-speed rail trains.

The Authority is working to environmentally clear the section between San Francisco and San José. The plan is to share the tracks with Caltrain and add infrastructure that will be necessary to support high-speed rail service in the corridor.

Environmental clearance is scheduled to be completed in 2021. Community engagement activities will continue throughout the process in communities along the corridor.

 

SECTION DETAILS

What's New

The public review period for the San Francisco to San José Project Section Draft Environmental Impact Report/Environmental Impact Statement (EIR/EIS) closed on September 9, 2020. The Draft EIR/EIS was originally made available for a minimum 45-day public review beginning on July 10, 2020 and ending on August 24, 2020, pursuant to the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) and National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA). In response to agency and stakeholder requests and in consideration of limitations caused by the novel coronavirus pandemic, the Authority elected to extend the public review period to September 9, 2020. The California High-Speed Rail Authority (Authority) will consider all comments received on the Draft EIR/EIS and respond to substantive comments on the Draft EIR/EIS in the Final EIR/EIS, scheduled for release in 2021.

To access the Draft EIR/EIS or learn more about its purpose, please navigate to the following link: https://hsr.ca.gov/programs/environmental-planning/project-section-environmental-documents-tier-2/san-francisco-to-san-jose-project-section-draft-environmental-impact-report-environmental-impact-statement/

Please visit the Events Page for more information about the Authority’s upcoming engagement activities.

San Francisco to San José Alternatives

There are two end-to-end alternatives for the San Francisco to San José Project Section, Alternatives A and B.

Alternative A would operate high-speed rail trains in a blended system predominantly within the existing Caltrain right-of-way, install safety improvements and communication radio towers, and build a Light Maintenance Facility (LMF) east of the Caltrain corridor on the existing Brisbane Baylands site. This alternative would not include additional passing tracks.

Alternative B would operate high-speed trains in a blended system predominantly within the existing Caltrain right-of-way, install safety improvements and communication radio towers, and build a Light Maintenance Facility (LMF) west of the Caltrain corridor. This alternative would include six miles of additional passing tracks stretching from the City of San Mateo to Redwood City. For more information on passing tracks, please see the Passing Tracks Factsheet.

Please see the following maps to view the project alternatives.

High-Speed Rail Stations

High-speed rail stations are planned for three locations in the San Francisco to San José Project Section: San Francisco 4th and King Street in San Francisco — until the connection to Salesforce Transit Center is made; in Millbrae, which also serves San Francisco International Airport; and San José Diridon Station.

For more information about individual planned rail stations, please visit the station the communities web pages:

Blended System on an Electrified Caltrain Corridor

High-speed rail service along the San Francisco to San José corridor will be a blended system which will support modernized Caltrain service and high-speed rail service primarily on shared track largely within the existing Caltrain corridor. This approach minimizes impacts on surrounding communities, reduces project cost, improves safety and expedites implementation.

The Authority is continuing the planning and environmental process to further define the blended system. System improvements that will be defined during the planning and environmental review process include passing tracks, that can be used by high-speed rail to pass Caltrain trains that need to stop more frequently, system upgrades to support higher train performance and speed, system safety improvements, including grade crossings, and stations.

Blended System Background

The blended system concept has been envisioned for many years.

In 2004, the Authority and Caltrain entered into an agreement to work cooperatively to plan a shared corridor between San Francisco and San José.

After voters approved Proposition 1A, the Safe, Reliable High-Speed Passenger Train Bond Act for the 21st Century, the agencies entered into another agreement (2009 agreement, 2009 amendment) to work in partnership to identify design alternatives that would support both high-speed rail and modernized Caltrain service. These original plans called for a fully-grade separated four-track system between San Francisco and San José.

Much has changed since then and after listening to concerns from policymakers and communities on the Peninsula, high-speed rail is now being planned as part of a blended system allowing Caltrain and high-speed rail trains to primarily share Caltrain’s existing tracks on a system that remains substantially within the existing Caltrain corridor.

The Authority’s 2012 Business Plan called for blended service along the corridor saying:

“The proposed blended system for the San Francisco Peninsula is primarily a two-track system that will be shared by Caltrain, high-speed rail service, and current rail tenants. Initial investigations show that blended operations as currently envisioned for the corridor are cost-effective solutions on both a capital and operating basis.”

In 2012, Caltrain released several studies concluding that blended high-speed rail and Caltrain operations are feasible with some changes and upgrades to the existing system.

The same year, the Legislature passed Senate Bill SB 1029, defining the blended system saying:

“Any funds appropriated…for projects in the San Francisco to San José corridor, consistent with the blended system strategy identified in the April 2012 California High-Speed Rail Program Revised 2012 Business Plan, shall not be used to expand the blended system to a four-track system.”

In 2012, with local, regional and state agreement on the blended system/service concept, the Metropolitan Transportation Commission, the Authority, Caltrain and six other San Francisco Bay Area funding partners established a regional funding memorandum of understanding (MOU) to support the blended system which stated:

“A blended system will remain substantially within the existing Caltrain right-of-way and will accommodate future high-speed rail and modernized Caltrain service along the Peninsula corridor by primarily utilizing the existing track configuration on the Peninsula.”

“This MOU is specific to project investments that upgrade existing rail services and prepare for a future high-speed train project that is limited to infrastructure necessary to support a blended system, which will primarily be a two-track system shared by both Caltrain and high-speed rail…”

In 2013, the Authority and Caltrain signed a new agreement in 2013, replacing the agreements signed in 2004 and 2009. The 2013 agreement commits the two agencies’ to advancing a Blended System for the peninsula corridor and outlines the general path for advancing the Caltrain Modernization Program and the blended system.

In 2016, the Authority signed a funding agreement and supplement to the 2012 Nine-Party MOU that outlines the Authority’s commitment to provide Caltrain with an additional $113 million to support the Peninsula Corridor Electrification Project (PCEP), bringing the Authority’s total contribution to $600 million. Seven of the original nine parties to the 2012 Nine-Party MOU, including the Authority, identified additional funding to reach the estimated cost of the PCEP, identified as $1.972 billion by the Peninsula Corridor Joint Powers Board (PCJPB) in 2016.

Get the latest information on the Caltrain Modernization Program.

Local Policy Maker Group

The Local Policy Maker Group (LPMG) is comprised of officials from cities and counties along the Caltrain corridor. The group meets monthly to provide feedback and receive updates on the Caltrain Business Plan, Caltrain Electrification Project, and California high-speed rail project updates.

The LPMG group meets every month on the fourth Thursday at 5:30 p.m. in the Edward J. Bacciocco Auditorium located on the second floor at SamTrans Administrative Offices, 1250 San Carlos Ave., San Carlos. The office is located two blocks west of the San Carlos Caltrain Station. In compliance with COVID-19 shelter-in-place orders, meetings may occur as online and/or teleconference meetings.

For more information on upcoming meetings, including meeting agenda, materials, and updated LPMG member list, visit: www.caltrain.com/projectsplans/CaltrainModernization/Local_Policy_Maker_Group.html

Northern California Light Maintenance Facility

The California High-Speed Rail system has three planned train maintenance facilities that would support high-speed rail operations. In Northern California, a Light Maintenance Facility (LMF) is planned in the City of Brisbane; the LMF would serve as a location where trains are cleaned, serviced, and stored and as a service point for any trains in need of emergency repair services. The facility will be designed, constructed, and operated with LEED® Gold Certification – it will be energy-efficient and environmentally sensitive.

The Authority evaluated several potential LMF sites in Northern California and identified two options in Brisbane to further analyze in the Draft Environmental Impact Report/Environmental Impact Statement (Draft EIR/EIS). In 2019, the Authority Board of Directors identified the East Brisbane LMF (Alternative A) as the preferred location, considering preliminary environmental analysis and input received from the public. Both options are studied in full in the Draft EIR/EIS, which was released for public review in July 2020.

For more information, please see our LMF Factsheet and Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ). Additional questions can be provided by email at san.francisco_san.jose@hsr.ca.gov or by phone at (800) 435-8670.

Public Involvement & Community Outreach

High-speed rail is our opportunity to modernize the Bay Area’s transportation system and leave a positive environmental legacy for our children and grandchildren. The Authority encourages public engagement in California high-speed rail construction and operations, so that the final project reflects the needs and vision of our community as a whole.

We conduct outreach events throughout Northern California, such as Open Houses and Community Working Group meetings, to inform and gather input from local communities, policymakers, and stakeholders. Stakeholders include environmental justice groups, community organizations, city/county staff, neighborhood groups, and California residents.

In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Authority created an open house website to provide access to information and resources for the Northern California project sections upon the release of the San Francisco to San José and San José Merced Draft Environmental Impact Reports/Environmental Impact Statements (EIRs/EISs). The website is regularly updated as more resources become available. Please visit MeetHSRNorcal.org to learn more.

Below is a list of open houses and working group meetings conducted between fall 2019 and winter 2020. For a listing of upcoming events and outreach opportunities in your area, visit the Events page. Due to Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) requirements, meeting materials prior to July 2019 can be requested through a Public Records Act request.

March 2021

November 2020

August 2020

  • Draft EIR/EIS Open House Q&A Webinar on MeetHSRNorcal.org – 08/05
  • Draft EIR/EIS Public Hearing – 08/19

July 2020

March 2020

August 2019

July 2019

Maps

Visit the address lookup and interactive online map to find your property in relation to either of the two project alternatives.

Newsletters & Factsheets

Newsletter

The Authority releases quarterly regional newsletters to keep stakeholders and the public up to date on the high-speed rail program.

To sign up for the newsletter, complete the form on the Contact Us page and select “Northern California” from the dropdown menu.

View the most recent Northern California Regional Newsletter.

Factsheets

Visit the Factsheets page to learn more about the statewide California High-Speed Rail program.

To learn more about the San Francisco to San José Project Section, please see the following factsheets.

Environmental Review

Under the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) and National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA), the State of California and the federal government both require a proposed infrastructure project to undergo an extensive assessment of the project’s potential impacts on the environment.

Below is a timeline of steps the Authority is taking to deliver the Final Environmental Impact Report/Environmental Impact Statement (EIR/EIS).

Development and Review of Environmental Document for San Francisco to San Jose Project Section

Documents & Reports

The following documents are available for review upon request. The Authority encourages written requests submitted via our Public Records Portal.

  • San Francisco to San José Project Section Scoping – 2016
  • San Francisco to San José Project Section Supplemental Alternatives Analysis
  • San Francisco to San José Project Section Alternative Analysis
  • San Francisco to San José Project Section Scoping
  • San Francisco to San José Project Section Notice of Intent/Notice of Preparation

Please visit the links below to view the latest project section and California High Speed-Rail reports.

Contact Information

If you are interested in inviting the Authority to your community meeting to receive a project update, the team would be happy to coordinate with you.

(800) 435-8670
san.francisco_san.jose@hsr.ca.gov

Visit the Contact Us page to sign up for e-mail alerts and for additional contact information.

Map Icon INTERACTIVE MAPS

PROJECT SECTION ENVIRONMENTAL DOCUMENTS 

Get up to speed at BuildHSR.com

All the latest information on what's happening and where as we build California's high-speed rail

The California High-Speed Rail Authority makes every effort to ensure the website and its contents meet mandated ADA requirements as per the California State mandated Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0 Level AA standard. If you are looking for a particular document not located on the California High-Speed Rail Authority website, you may make a request for the document under the Public Records Act through the Public Records Act page. If you have any questions about the website or its contents, please contact the Authority at info@hsr.ca.gov.