項目部分環境文件

棕櫚樹到伯班克

環境影響報告/環境影響報告草案

Click here for additional information and resources for the Palmdale to Burbank Project Section.

從 2022 年 9 月 2 日開始,根據加州環境質量法 (CEQA) 和國家環境政策法 (NEPA),Palmdale 到伯班克項目部分的環境影響報告/環境影響報告草案 (EIR/EIS) 將在公眾審查期內提供並於 2022 年 11 月 1 日結束。加州高速鐵路管理局(管理局)將考慮收到的關於 EIR/EIS 草案的所有意見,並在最終 EIR/EIS 中回復對 EIR/EIS 草案的實質性意見。

加利福尼亞州正在或已經根據 23 US Code 327 和日期為 2019 年 7 月 23 日的諒解備忘錄 (MOU) 對本項目的適用聯邦環境法律要求進行環境審查、諮詢和其他行動,並由聯邦鐵路管理局 (FRA) 和加利福尼亞州執行。根據該諒解備忘錄,管理局是該項目在 NEPA 下的牽頭機構。在 2019 年 7 月 23 日諒解備忘錄之前,FRA 是 NEPA 的牽頭機構。管理局也是 CEQA 下的牽頭機構。

全州計劃(一級)EIR/EIS 於 2005 年完成,作為擬議的加州高速鐵路 (HSR) 系統分層環境審查過程的第一階段,該系統計劃提供可靠的高速電動鐵路系統,連接該州的主要大都市區,並提供可預測且一致的旅行時間。另一個目標是提供與商業機場、公共交通和高速公路網絡的接口,並隨著加利福尼亞城際旅行需求的增加,以對加利福尼亞獨特自然資源敏感和保護的方式緩解現有交通系統的容量限制。 2008 年完成了第二個項目級別(第 1 層)EIR/EIS,重點是灣區和中央山谷之間的聯繫;管理局根據 CEQA 修訂了該文件並於 2012 年完成。基於計劃 EIR/EIS,管理局選擇了首選走廊和車站位置以推進進一步研究。

管理局準備了一個項目級(2 級)EIR/EIS,進一步檢查 Palmdale 到 Burbank 項目部分。大約 31-38 英里的項目段將在北部靠近 Sierra 高速公路以西的 Spruce Court 附近的 Palmdale 和南部的伯班克機場站之間提供 HSR 服務。這個高鐵站將提供與區域和當地公共交通服務的聯繫,以及與洛杉磯縣內的機場和高速公路網絡的連接。項目段將連接全州高鐵系統的北部和南部部分。

本 EIR/EIS 草案評估了無項目備選方案和六項建設備選方案的影響和收益。作為 CEQA 的擬議項目,管理局在 NEPA 下的首選替代方案是 SR14A 建造替代方案。首選方案將沿著從棕櫚谷市雲杉苑向西南方向穿過安吉利斯國家森林(包括聖蓋博山國家紀念碑)的路線,然後繼續進入聖費爾南多谷,在那裡它將與經批准的伯班克機場高鐵相連車站。

EIR/EIS 草案的副本

以下許多文檔以 Adobe Acrobat PDF 格式提供電子版,需要 Adobe Acrobat Reader 或類似軟件。如果您沒有此免費軟件的副本,您可以從 Adobe 下載,網址為 https://get.adobe.com/reader/. If you already have a copy of this software, simply click on the links and it will open up automatically. Note: many of these files are very large and could take up to several minutes to download. Electronic copies of files that are not posted on this website can be accessed by calling (800) 630-1039 or by emailing: palmdale_burbank@hsr.ca.gov.

除了在本網站上發布 EIR/EIS 草案的部分內容外,如果情況允許,在設施開放時間(開放日/為遵守 COVID-19 公共衛生和安全指令,工作時間可能會減少)。

EIR/EIS 草案和第 1 層文件的印刷和/或電子副本也可在辦公時間內在位於 770 L Street, Suite 620 MS-1, Sacramento, CA 的管理局總部進行審查,並在管理局的南加州預約區域辦事處,地址:355 S. Grand Avenue, Suite 2050, Los Angeles, CA。如需預約在南加州地區辦事處查看文件,請致電 800-630-1039。您也可以致電 800-630-1039 索取 EIR/EIS 草案和第 1 層文件的電子副本。

貝克斯菲爾德至帕姆代爾項目部分最終 EIR/EIS(2021 年)和伯班克至洛杉磯最終 EIR/EIS(2022 年)可在管理局網站上查看: www.hsr.ca.gov 也可在上述指定的管理局辦公室進行審查。這些文件目前不屬於公眾審查和評論流程的一部分;但是,它們可供審查和參考。

根據 COVID-19 公共衛生和安全指令的要求,當局辦公室可能會減少開放天數/小時數。請諮詢 www.hsr.ca.gov 獲取最新信息。

管理局不會因殘疾而歧視,並應要求提供合理便利,以確保平等獲得其計劃、服務和活動。

環境文件的目的是向決策者和公眾披露信息。雖然支持本 EIR/EIS 草案的科學和分析很複雜,但本文件面向公眾。已盡一切努力限制技術術語和首字母縮略詞的使用。術語和首字母縮略詞在首次使用時進行定義,首字母縮略詞和縮略語列表在 Palmdale to Burbank Draft EIR/EIS 的第 15 章中提供。

執行摘要有英文、西班牙文、亞美尼亞文和阿拉伯文版本,提供了實質性章節的概述。它包括一個表格,列出了每個環境資源主題的潛在環境影響,並指導讀者可以在文檔的其他地方找到更多信息。

文件組織

Palmdale 到 Burbank 項目部分草案 EIR/EIS 包括以下內容:

  • 第 1 卷——報告
  • 第 2 卷——技術附錄
  • 第 3 卷——項目定義的初步工程

教材

通知

Online Open House and Public Hearing Opportunities

結合 EIR/EIS 草案的公眾審查期,管理局邀請公眾參加在線開放日和在線公開聽證會。開放日會議將向公眾提供環境文件的概述,與會者有機會審查和詢問有關 EIR/EIS 草案的問題,以及有關在何處訪問環境文件以及如何參與公眾意見徵詢過程的信息。公開聽證會將提供一個機會,就 EIR/EIS 草案提交意見。 

在線開放日
October 6, 2022
5 – 7:30 p.m.
English Presentation at 5:00 – 6:30 p.m.
Spanish Presentation at 6:30 – 7:30 p.m.
訪問 www.hsr.ca.gov

在線公開聽證會
2022 年 10 月 18 日
下午 3 點至 8 點
訪問 www.hsr.ca.gov

提交評論

2022 年 9 月 2 日,加州高鐵管理局(管理局)發布了加州高鐵項目 Palmdale 至 Burbank 項目段的環境影響報告/環境影響報告草案(EIR/EIS),以供公眾審查和根據加州環境質量法 (CEQA) 和國家環境政策法 (NEPA) 發表評論。

加利福尼亞州正在或已經根據 23 US Code 327 和日期為 2019 年 7 月 23 日的諒解備忘錄 (MOU) 對本項目的適用聯邦環境法律要求進行環境審查、諮詢和其他行動,並由聯邦鐵路管理局 (FRA) 和加利福尼亞州執行。根據該諒解備忘錄,管理局是該項目在 NEPA 下的牽頭機構。在 2019 年 7 月 23 日諒解備忘錄之前,FRA 是 NEPA 的牽頭機構。管理局也是 CEQA 下的牽頭機構。

官方意見徵詢期從 2022 年 9 月 2 日開始,到 2022 年 11 月 1 日結束。有多種方式可以就 Palmdale 的 EIR/EIS 草案向伯班克項目部分提交意見,包括:

  • 通過我們的網絡評論表在線獲取以下語言:
  • 電子郵件地址 Palmdale_Burbank@hsr.ca.gov 主題為“Palmdale to Burbank Project Section Draft EIR/EIS Comment”
  • 傳統郵件地址:
    收件人:Palmdale 到 Burbank 項目部分草案 EIR/EIS 評論
    南加州地區辦事處
    355 S. Grand Avenue, Suite 2050
    洛杉磯,CA 90071
  • 在 (800) 630-1039 對 Palmdale 到 Burbank 項目部分的直接線路進行口頭評論。
  • 在 2022 年 10 月 18 日星期二下午 3:00 至 8:00 之間舉行的在線公開聽證會上發表公眾意見 公開聽證會地點將採用網絡廣播形式。請訪問管理局網站(www.hsr.ca.gov) 了解詳情。所有會議均提供西班牙語口譯服務。所有合理便利和/或其他語言服務的請求必須在每次會議前 72 小時致電 (800) 630-1039 提出。如需 TTY/TTD 幫助,請致電 711 聯繫加州中繼服務。

第 1 卷:報告

第 2 卷:技術附錄

第 3 卷:對齊計劃

第 3 卷包括項目定義的初步工程 (PEPD) 計劃,其中包括軌道、結構、等級分隔、公用設施、車站等的圖紙。PEPD 計劃如下所示。

技術報告

The following Palmdale to Burbank Project Section Technical Reports provide technical details and serve as sources for the Draft EIR/EIS analysis. Electronic versions of the technical reports will be available through submitting a request on the Public Records Act portal:

  • 運輸技術報告
  • 空氣質量和全球氣候變化技術報告
  • 噪音和振動技術報告
  • 生物和水產資源技術報告
  • 水生資源劃定報告
  • 野生動物走廊評估報告
  • 水文和水資源技術報告
  • 地質、土壤和地震技術報告
  • 古生物資源技術報告
  • 危險材料和廢物技術報告
  • 社區影響評估
  • 視覺影響評估
  • 歷史建築調查報告
  • 影響報告的結果
  • 搬遷影響報告草案

各章簡述

第 1 卷 – 報告

第 1.0 章,簡介和目的、需求和目標,解釋了管理局對 Palmdale 到 Burbank 項目部分的目的和需求,並提供了規劃過程的歷史。

第 2.0 章,備選方案,描述了建議的 Palmdale 到 Burbank 的六個構建備選方案和用於比較目的的無項目備選方案。它包含插圖和地圖,並提供了對建築活動的回顧。本章確定了首選替代方案,該替代方案也可作為 CEQA 的擬議項目。

前兩章幫助讀者理解文檔其餘部分所分析的內容。

第 3.0 章,受影響的環境、環境後果和緩解措施,讀者可以在其中找到有關 Palmdale 到 Burbank 地區現有交通、環境和社會狀況的信息。本章提供了對潛在環境影響的分析結果,以及減少這些影響的方法(稱為緩解措施)。

第 4.0 章第 4(f) 節/第 6(f) 節評估,提供分析以支持根據 1966 年交通部法案第 4(f) 節和土地和水資源保護基金第 6(f) 節做出的決定行為。

第 5.0 章“環境正義”討論了 Palmdale 到 Burbank 項目部分的建造替代方案是否會對低收入和少數族裔社區造成不成比例的影響。它還確定了緩解措施,以酌情減少這些影響。

第 6.0 章,項目成本和運營,總結了在本 EIR/EIS 草案中評估的 Palmdale 到 Burbank 建造備選方案的估計資本、運營和維護成本。

第 7.0 章,其他 NEPA/CEQA 考慮因素,總結了 Palmdale 到 Burbank Build Alternative 在 NEPA 下的環境影響、在 CEQA 下無法避免的重大不利環境影響,以及由於項目而發生或不可挽回的重大不可逆環境變化資源承諾或對未來選擇的止贖。

第 8.0 章,首選方案,描述了首選方案和確定首選方案的基礎。

第 9.0 章,公眾和機構參與,包含在準備本 EIR/EIS 草案期間與機構和公眾的協調和外展活動的摘要。

第 10.0 章 EIR/EIS 分發草案確定了獲悉本 EIR/EIS 草案的可用性和獲取地點的公共機構、部落和組織。

第 11.0 章編制者名單提供了本 EIR/EIS 草案作者的姓名和職責。

第 12.0 章,文件準備中使用的參考資料/來源,引用了撰寫本 EIR/EIS 草案時使用的參考資料和聯繫方式。

第 13.0 章,術語表,提供了本 EIR/EIS 草案中使用的某些術語的定義。

第 14.0 章“索引”提供了一個工具來交叉引用本 EIR/EIS 草案中使用的主要主題。

第 15.0 章首字母縮略詞和縮寫詞定義了本 EIR/EIS 草案中使用的首字母縮略詞和縮寫詞。

第 2 卷 – 技術附錄

附錄提供了有關 Palmdale 到 Burbank 項目部分的更多詳細信息,以及 EIR/EIS 草案中評估的六個構建備選方案。第 2 卷中包含的技術附錄主要與受影響的環境和環境後果分析有關。這些附錄的編號與本 EIR/EIS 草案第 3 章和第 2 章中的相應部分相匹配(例如,3.2-A 是第 3.2 節“運輸”的第一個附錄)。

第 3 卷 – 對齊計劃

這些是詳細的設計圖紙,包括軌道、通行權、結構、坡度分隔、公用設施、系統、車站和施工階段。

Green Practices

項目部分環境文件

舊金山至聖何塞項目組

聖何塞至默塞德項目組

默塞德到弗雷斯諾項目組

弗雷斯諾至貝克斯菲爾德項目部分

貝克斯菲爾德至帕姆代爾項目部分

伯班克到洛杉磯項目部分

項目部分詳情

選擇一個項目部分以了解更多信息:

接觸

環境的
(916) 324-1541
info@hsr.ca.gov

加利福尼亞州高鐵管理局盡一切努力確保網站及其內容符合加利福尼亞州規定的Web內容可訪問性指南2.0級AA標準所規定的ADA規定。如果您要查找不在加利福尼亞高速鐵路管理局網站上的特定文件,則可以通過“公共記錄法”頁面根據“公共記錄法”來請求該文件。如果您對網站或其內容有任何疑問,請通過以下方式與管理局聯繫: info@hsr.ca.gov.

Project Section Environmental Documents

PALMDALE TO BURBANK

Draft Environmental Impact Report/Environmental Impact Statement

Click here for additional information and resources for the Palmdale to Burbank Project Section.

Notice of Extension of Comment Period for Palmdale to Burbank Project Section Draft EIR/EIS:

The California High-Speed Rail Authority (Authority) has approved a 30-day extension of the public review period for the Draft Environment Impact Report/Environmental Impact Statement (EIR/EIS) for the Palmdale to Burbank Project Section. The Draft EIR/EIS for the Palmdale to Burbank Section has been available to the public on the Authority website since September 2, 2022. While a minimum 45-day review period is required for this document, pursuant to the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) and National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA), the Authority had initially allowed for 60 days of public review. The new deadline for receipt of public comment will be December 1, 2022.

The Palmdale to Burbank Project Section Draft Environmental Impact Report/Environmental Impact Statement (EIR/EIS) will be available for a public review period pursuant to the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) and National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) beginning September 2, 2022 and ending November 1, 2022 December 1, 2022. The California High-Speed Rail Authority (Authority) will consider all comments received on the Draft EIR/EIS and respond to substantive comments on the Draft EIR/EIS in the Final EIR/EIS.

The environmental review, consultation, and other actions required by applicable federal environmental laws for this project are being or have been carried out by the State of California pursuant to 23 U.S. Code 327 and a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) dated July 23, 2019, and executed by the Federal Railroad Administration (FRA) and the State of California. Under that MOU, the Authority is the project’s lead agency under NEPA. Prior to the July 23, 2019 MOU, the FRA was the NEPA lead agency. The Authority is also the lead agency under CEQA.

A Statewide Program (Tier 1) EIR/EIS was completed in 2005 as the first phase of a tiered environmental review process for the proposed California High-Speed Rail (HSR) System planned to provide a reliable high-speed electric-powered rail system that links the major metropolitan areas of the state and that delivers predictable and consistent travel times. A further objective is to provide an interface with commercial airports, mass transit, and the highway network and to relieve capacity constraints of the existing transportation system as intercity travel demand in California increases, in a manner sensitive to and protective of California’s unique natural resources. A second program-level (Tier 1) EIR/EIS was completed in 2008 focusing on the connection between the Bay Area and Central Valley; the Authority revised this document under CEQA and completed it in 2012. Based on the Program EIR/EISs, the Authority selected preferred corridors and station locations to advance for further study.

The Authority has prepared a project-level (Tier 2) EIR/EIS that further examines the Palmdale to Burbank Project Section. The approximately 31-38 mile Project Section would provide HSR service between Palmdale, near the vicinity of Spruce Court just west of Sierra Highway in the north, and the Burbank Airport Station in the south. This HSR station would provide links with regional and local mass transit services as well as connectivity to airports and the highway networks within Los Angeles County. The Project Section would connect the Northern and Southern portions of the Statewide HSR system.

This Draft EIR/EIS evaluates the impacts and benefits of a No Project Alternative and six Build Alternatives. The Authority’s Preferred Alternative under NEPA, which serves as the proposed project for CEQA, is the SR14A Build Alternative. The Preferred Alternative would follow an alignment that heads southwest from Spruce Court in the city of Palmdale through the Angeles National Forest, including the San Gabriel Mountains National Monument, and then continues into the San Fernando Valley where it would connect with the approved Burbank Airport HSR station.

Copies of the Draft EIR/EIS

Many of the following documents are available electronically in Adobe Acrobat PDF format, which require Adobe Acrobat Reader or similar software. If you do not have a copy of this free software, you can download it from Adobe at https://get.adobe.com/reader/. If you already have a copy of this software, simply click on the links and it will open up automatically. Note: many of these files are very large and could take up to several minutes to download. Electronic copies of files that are not posted on this website can be accessed by calling (800) 630-1039 or by emailing: palmdale_burbank@hsr.ca.gov.

In addition to posting sections of the Draft EIR/EIS on this website, printed and/or electronic copies of the Draft EIR/EIS, may be available at the following locations, if circumstances allow, during hours the facilities are open (open days/hours may be reduced for compliance with COVID-19 public health and safety directives).

Printed and/or electronic copies of the Draft EIR/EIS and Tier 1 documents are also available for review during business hours at the Authority’s Headquarters at 770 L Street, Suite 620 MS-1, Sacramento, CA and by appointment at the Authority’s Southern California Regional Office at 355 S. Grand Avenue, Suite 2050, Los Angeles, CA. To make an appointment to view the documents at the Southern California Regional Office, please call 800-630-1039. You may also request an electronic copy of Draft EIR/EIS and Tier 1 documents by calling 800-630-1039.

The Bakersfield to Palmdale Project Section Final EIR/EIS (2021) and the Burbank to Los Angeles Final EIR/EIS (2022) may be reviewed on the Authority’s website at www.hsr.ca.gov and are also available for review at the Authority’s offices as specified above. These documents are not currently part of the public review and comment process; however, they are available for review and reference.

Authority offices may have reduced open days/hours, as required by COVID-19 public health and safety directives. Please consult www.hsr.ca.gov for up-to-date information.

The Authority does not discriminate on the basis of disability and, upon request, will provide reasonable accommodation to ensure equal access to its programs, services, and activities.

The purpose of environmental documents is to disclose information to decision makers and the public. While the science and analysis that supports this Draft EIR/EIS are complex, this document is intended for the general public. Every attempt has been made to limit technical terms and the use of acronyms. The terms and acronyms are defined the first time they are used and a list of acronyms and abbreviations is provided in Chapter 15 of the Palmdale to Burbank Draft EIR/EIS.

The Executive Summary, available in English, Spanish, Armenian, and Arabic, provides an overview of the substantive chapters. It includes a table listing the potential environmental impacts for each environmental resource topic and directs the reader to where additional information can be found elsewhere in the document.

Document Organization

The Palmdale to Burbank Project Section Draft EIR/EIS consists of the following:

  • Volume 1—Report
  • Volume 2—Technical Appendices
  • Volume 3—Preliminary Engineering for Project Definition

Educational Materials

Notices

Online Open House and Public Hearing Opportunities

In conjunction with the public review period for the Draft EIR/EIS, the Authority invites the public to participate in an online open house and an online public hearing. The open house meeting will provide the public an overview of the environmental document, opportunity for attendees to review and ask questions about the Draft EIR/EIS, and information on where to access the environmental document and how to participate in the public comment process. The public hearing will provide an opportunity to submit comments on the Draft EIR/EIS.

Online Open House
October 6, 2022
5 – 7:30 p.m.
English Presentation at 5:00 – 6:30 p.m.
Spanish Presentation at 6:30 – 7:30 p.m.
Visit www.hsr.ca.gov

Online Public Hearing
October 18, 2022
3 – 8 p.m.
Visit www.hsr.ca.gov

Submitting a Comment

On September 2, 2022, the California High-Speed Rail Authority (Authority) released a Draft Environmental Impact Report/Environmental Impact Statement (EIR/EIS) for the Palmdale to Burbank Project Section of the California High-Speed Rail Project for public review and comment under the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) and National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA).

The environmental review, consultation, and other actions required by applicable federal environmental laws for this project are being or have been carried out by the State of California pursuant to 23 U.S. Code 327 and a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) dated July 23, 2019, and executed by the Federal Railroad Administration (FRA) and the State of California. Under that MOU, the Authority is the project’s lead agency under NEPA. Prior to the July 23, 2019 MOU, the FRA was the NEPA lead agency. The Authority is also the lead agency under CEQA.

The official comment period begins September 2, 2022 and ends November 1, 2022 December 1, 2022. There are several ways to submit a comment regarding the Draft EIR/EIS for Palmdale to Burbank Project Section including:

  • Online via our web comment forms for the following languages:
  • Email addressed to Palmdale_Burbank@hsr.ca.gov with subject line “Palmdale to Burbank Project Section Draft EIR/EIS Comment”
  • Traditional mail addressed to:
    Attn: Palmdale to Burbank Project Section Draft EIR/EIS Comment
    Southern California Regional Office
    355 S. Grand Avenue, Suite 2050
    Los Angeles, CA 90071
  • Verbal comment on the direct line for the Palmdale to Burbank Project Section at (800) 630-1039.
  • Public comment at an online public hearing on Tuesday, October 18, 2022, between 3:00 p.m. and 8:00 p.m. The public hearing location will be in a webcast format. Please visit the Authority website (www.hsr.ca.gov) for details. Spanish interpretation will be available for all meetings. All requests for reasonable accommodations and/or other language services must be made 72 hours prior to each meeting by calling (800) 630-1039. For TTY/TTD assistance, please call the California Relay Service at 711.

Volume 1: Report

Volume 2: Technical Appendices

Volume 3: Alignment Plans

Volume 3 consists of the Preliminary Engineering for Project Definition (PEPD) plans, which include drawings of track, structures, grade separations, utilities, stations, etc. The PEPD plans are provided below.

Technical Reports

The following Palmdale to Burbank Project Section Technical Reports provide technical details and serve as sources for the Draft EIR/EIS analysis. Electronic versions of the technical reports will be available through submitting a request on the Public Records Act portal:

  • Transportation Technical Report
  • Air Quality and Global Climate Change Technical Report
  • Noise and Vibration Technical Report
  • Biological and Aquatic Resources Technical Report
  • Aquatic Resources Delineation Report
  • Wildlife Corridor Assessment Report
  • Hydrology and Water Resources Technical Report
  • Geology, Soils, and Seismicity Technical Report
  • Paleontological Resources Technical Report
  • Hazardous Materials and Wastes Technical Report
  • Community Impact Assessment
  • Visual Impact Assessment
  • Historic Architectural Survey Report
  • Findings of Effects Report
  • Draft Relocation Impact Report

Brief Explanation of Each Chapter

Volume 1 – Report

Chapter 1.0, Introduction and Purpose, Need, and Objectives, explains the Authority’s purpose and need for the Palmdale to Burbank Project Section, and provides a history of the planning process.

Chapter 2.0, Alternatives, describes the proposed Palmdale to Burbank six Build Alternatives and the No Project Alternative used for purposes of comparison. It contains illustrations and maps and provides a review of construction activities. This chapter identifies the preferred alternative, which also serves as the proposed project for CEQA.

These first two chapters help the reader understand what is being analyzed in the remainder of the document.

Chapter 3.0, Affected Environment, Environmental Consequences, and Mitigation Measures, is where the reader can find information about the existing transportation, environmental, and social conditions in the area of Palmdale to Burbank. This chapter provides the findings of the analysis of potential environmental impacts, along with methods to reduce these impacts (called mitigation measures).

Chapter 4.0, Section 4(f)/Section 6(f) Evaluation, provides the analysis to support determinations made under Section 4(f) of the Department of Transportation Act of 1966 and Section 6(f) of the Land and Water Conservation Fund Act.

Chapter 5.0, Environmental Justice, discusses whether the Palmdale to Burbank Project Section Build Alternatives will cause disproportionate impacts on low-income and minority communities. It also identifies mitigation to reduce those impacts where appropriate.

Chapter 6.0, Project Costs and Operations, summarizes the estimated capital and operations and maintenance costs for the Palmdale to Burbank Build Alternatives evaluated in this Draft EIR/EIS.

Chapter 7.0, Other NEPA/CEQA Considerations, summarizes the Palmdale to Burbank Build Alternative’s environmental effects under NEPA, the significant adverse environmental effects that cannot be avoided under CEQA, and the significant irreversible environmental changes that would occur as a result of the project or irretrievable commitments of resources or foreclosure of future options.

Chapter 8.0, Preferred Alternative, describes the Preferred Alternative and the basis for identifying the Preferred Alternative.

Chapter 9.0, Public and Agency Involvement, contains summaries of coordination and outreach activities with agencies and the general public during preparation of this Draft EIR/EIS.

Chapter 10.0, Draft EIR/EIS Distribution, identifies the public agencies, tribes, and organizations that were informed of the availability of, and locations to obtain, this Draft EIR/EIS.

Chapter 11.0, List of Preparers, provides the names and responsibilities of the authors of this Draft EIR/EIS.

Chapter 12.0, References/Sources Used in Document Preparation, cites the references and contacts used in writing this Draft EIR/EIS.

Chapter 13.0, Glossary of Terms, provides a definition of certain terms used in this Draft EIR/EIS.

Chapter 14.0, Index, provides a tool to cross-reference major topics used in this Draft EIR/EIS.

Chapter 15.0, Acronyms and Abbreviations, defines the acronyms and abbreviations used in this Draft EIR/EIS.

Volume 2 – Technical Appendices

Appendices provide additional details on the Palmdale to Burbank Project Section and the six Build Alternatives evaluated in the Draft EIR/EIS. Technical appendices, included in Volume 2, are primarily related to the affected environment and environmental consequences analyses. These appendices are numbered to match their corresponding section in Chapter 3, as well as Chapter 2, of this Draft EIR/EIS (e.g., 3.2-A is the first appendix for Section 3.2, Transportation).

Volume 3 – Alignment Plans

These are detailed design drawings, including trackway, right-of-way, structures, grade separations, utilities, systems, stations, and construction phasing.

Green Practices

PROJECT SECTION ENVIRONMENTAL DOCUMENTS

San Francisco to San Jose Project Section

San Jose to Merced Project Section

Merced to Fresno Project Section

Fresno to Bakersfield Project Section

Bakersfield to Palmdale Project Section

Burbank to Los Angeles Project Section

Project Section Details

Select a project section to learn more:

CONTACT

Environmental
(916) 324-1541
info@hsr.ca.gov

The California High-Speed Rail Authority makes every effort to ensure the website and its contents meet mandated ADA requirements as per the California State mandated Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0 Level AA standard. If you are looking for a particular document not located on the California High-Speed Rail Authority website, you may make a request for the document under the Public Records Act through the Public Records Act page. If you have any questions about the website or its contents, please contact the Authority at info@hsr.ca.gov.